Yakima School District names year's top educators

Yakima School District names year's top educators »Play Video
Elizabeth Baranowski, Linda Fjeld, Earl Henderson, Irene Smith, and Jude Tegen appeared at a news conference Tuesday morning where they were named as the Yakima School District's 2014 Crystal Apple Award winners.
YAKIMA, Wash. -- The Yakima School District has announced its top educators for 2014.

The district named the five winners of this year's Crystal Apple Awards at a news conference Tuesday morning.

The winners are Elizabeth Baranowski of Davis High School, Linda Fjeld of Adams Elementary School, Earl Henderson of Eisenhower High School, Irene Smith of Discovery Lab School, and Jude Tegen of Wilson Middle School.

All of them were surprised.

They will receive $1,000 and a crystal apple trophy for making a positive impact on students.

There were 18 educators nominated by colleagues, students or parents.

The teachers told KIMA they're grateful for the recognition.

"It's a thrill, it really is," said Fjeld. "I don't know what else you can say, it's just thrilling."

The award ceremony is on Monday, May 5, at 4 p.m. at the Yakima Convention Center. The ceremony is open to the public.